University of Vermont

Department of Animal and Veterinary Sciences (ASCI)

On Friday, April 21, 2006, thirty-four Animal Science students received awards at the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences' Honors Day Ceremony held at Benedict Auditorium in the Marsh Life Science Building at UVM. Congratulations to all of our hard-working and talented students.

Tom McFadden and Whitney Knauer
Dr. Thomas McFadden, Chair of the Department of Animal Science, presents the George H. Walker Award to Whitney A. Knauer

Dr. Lyndon Carew and Megan Richmond
Dr. Lyndon Carew, Fundamentals of Nutrition Professor, presents Megan G. Richmond with the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences' Alexander Kende Academic Merit Award

Photos courtesy of Jane Kennedy O'Neil
2006 Honor's Day Awards and Scholarships

Elmer Towne Award
Presented annually by the Vermont Dairy Industry Association to that student whose work in the field of Dairy Science shows the greatest promise for providing the quality leadership exemplified by Elmer E. Towne in his life of service to the Dairy Industry.
Megan G. Richmond

George H. Walker Award
Awarded annually by faculty vote to members of the graduating class of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, who have majored in Animal Science, who exhibit conspicuous merit in the studies pertaining to Dairy Science and especially in those courses relating to the production and/or processing market milk, and who furthermore exhibit high and noble traits of leadership and character.
Whitney A. Knauer

Brian Hawley Scholarship Award
This award, in memory of Brian D. Hawley, an Animal Science graduate of UVM, is given to a deserving Vermont junior or senior in the Animal Science Department.
John J. Fitzpatrick

Donald J. Balch Award
This award is presented annually to that student making the greatest contribution to the equine or companion animal activities of the Department of Animal Science.
Carolina N. Turk
Ashley E. Volker

American Society of Animal Science Award
Presented annually to sophomores, juniors, and seniors whose academic record, scholastic efforts and character warrant recognition as the future leaders in the field of Animal Science:
Jacqueline Carlson-Hulce
Kathryn R. Gibbs
Sarah J. James
Ladan Karimian
Whitney A. Knauer
Sarah B. Simpson
Courtney L. DeHaan
Cara R. Edelstein
Amanda C. Kissell
Lynn P. Little
Katherine B. Woodman-Hardy
Abigail L. Carpenter
Deandra J. Dill
Diana L. Fischer
Shannon J. Gilbert
Sarah O. Muntyan
Elisa Speckert

The Brett Klein Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship is presented to CREAM Student Herd Advisors for Fall 2005 and Spring 2006 with a big thanks for their time and effort! The award is presented for their dedication, responsible leadership, and friendly attitude that Brett exemplified as a 1990 CREAMer as well as for their excellence in teaching and advising the '05/'06 CREAMers and in passing on the CREAM tradition!
Fall '05:
Molly W. Robinson
Ladan Karimian
Spring '06:
Whitney A. Knauer
Garth Cummings

Animal Science Faculty Award
In recognition of scholastic performance, outstanding achievements in undergraduate research, and service to the Department of Animal Science.
Ladan Karimian
Sarah B. Simpson

Triona Wilder Marno-Ferree Memorial Award
This award is presented to the student or students who possess a genuine love of horses and display the energy and enthusiasm shown by Triona for UVM Horse Barn activities.
Nicole R. Grainger

Congratulations to all of our award-winning ASCI students!

Last modified September 10 2008 11:09 AM

Contact UVM © 2017 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131